history or legend...

 
His name is a bit confusing. Indeed, the cradle of the race is not the Rocky Mountains, but the Appalachian mountains of the eastern United States, which ends in Kentucky. The founder of the breed standard  arrived in Kentucky in the late nineteenth century. Brought back by gold miners from Montana, the colt Old Tobe was exchanged against food to the family of Sam Tuttle. He was responsible for a park where many mares had lateral gaits. He crossed many times this little stallion who gave to his descendants his good character and unique color: taffy or chocolate with white main and tail.

Small horse , like all American-looking horses, the Rocky Mountain Horse is a confidential breed. Especially endangered with mechanization: While Americans do not eat horse, they started making dog food with the breed!

In 1986, a group decides to preserve the qualities of this horse. Since then, about 17,000 horses are registered  Rocky Mountain Horse.

In 1989, a splinter group founded the Association of Kentucky Mountain Saddle Horse, more open to cross. More horses then, but the origins can be controversial, especially in Europe ...

Then in 1994, is created the assocaition of the Mountain Pleasure Horse. Their stud book is totally closed upon creation, but it admits local-looking horses with less restriction on the size or color. Race very confidential, even in the cradle of race.

In 2000, the birth of a filly that can belong by birth in the three named above studbook Can we find better thus - born with a white patch on the rump (gift gene sabino). She'll be without papres! So opened the stud book of Spotted Mountain Horses  in 2001. Breed very recent, the subjects are crossbred, of course!

Born in 2010  the Club Européen de Rocky Mountain Horse European Rocky Mountain Horse club, recognized by the RMHA, to defend the qualities of these horses really different.

 

   
   

 

Les pres d'Allys I rmh I stallions I mares I foals I for sale I services I news
Les pres d'allys, la Ramie 63480 Marat I les.pres.dallys@free.fr

historique ou légende...

Son nom porte un peu à confusion. En effet, le berceau de la race n'est pas les montagnes Rocheuses, mais les Appalaches, montagnes de l'Est des USA qui prennent fin au Kentucky. L'étalon fondateur de la race est arrivé dans le Kentucky à la fin du XIX siècles. Ramené par des chercheurs d'or venant du Montana, le poulain Old Tobe fut échangé contre de la nourriture à la famille de Sam Tuttle. Celui-ci était responsable d'un parc où beaucoup de juments possédaient des allures amblées. Il croisa un grand nombre de fois ce petit étalon qui donna à sa descendance son très bon caractère et sa couleur si particulière : taffy, ou chocolat crins blonds.

Petit cheval de ferme, comme tous les chevaux d'allure américains, le Rocky Mountain Horse reste longtemps une race confidentielle. D'autant plus menacée d'extinction avec la mécanisation: certes les Américains ne mangent pas de cheval, mais au coeur du berceau de race s'installe une usine de fabrication de croquettes pour chiens...

En 1986, un groupe décide de préserver les qualités de ce cheval. Depuis, environ 17 000 chevaux sont inscrits Rocky Mountain Horse.

En 1989, un groupe dissident fonde l'Association des Kentucky Mountain Saddle Horse, plus ouvert aux croisements. Plus répendu donc, mais les origines peuvent être controversées, surtout en Europe...

Puis en 1994, est fondée l'Association du Mountain Pleasure Horse. Leur Stud-book est totalement fermé dès la création, mais on y admet des chevaux d'allure locaux avec moins de restriction de taille ou de couleur. Race très confidentielle, même dans le berceau de race.

En 2000, la naissance d'une petite pouliche susceptible d'être inscrite de par sa naissance dans les 3 stud-book ci nommés -ce qu'on peut trouver de mieux donc - nait avec une tache blanche sur la croupe (cadeau du gène sabino). Elle serai sans papiers ! Est alors ouvert le stud-book des Spotted Mountain Horses en 2001. Race très récente, ses sujets sont issus de croisements, évidemment !

En 2010 nait le Club Européen de Rocky Mountain Horse , reconnu par la RMHA, pour défendre outre Atlantique les qualités de ces chevaux vraiment différents.

   
   

 

 

 

 

Les pres d'Allys I rmh I etalons I juments I poulains I a vendre I services I blog
Les pres d'allys, la Ramie 63480 Marat I les.pres.dallys@free.fr